Morning Prayer by the Dalai Lama

For my dear friend Nancy and our wonderful Tuesday night group.

Today I am fortunate enough to have woken up.
I am alive and I have been blessed with a blessed human life,
I am not going to waist it.

This day, I am going to use all my energies to develop myself.
To expand my heart out to others.
To achieve enlightenment for the benefit of all beings.

Today, I am going to have kind thoughts of others.
I am not going to get angry or have un kind thoughts of others.
I am going to be of benefit to others as much as I can.

My aging, physical diminishment and death are inevitable.
Everything is impermanent, ever changing and we must part from loved ones.
My actions, karma, are my true belongings, the ground upon which I stand.
Since death is certain and the time of death un certain, What is the most important thing?

Suffering – non-self – Impermanence – are all beating the drum of my diminishing years……..

2 thoughts on “Morning Prayer by the Dalai Lama

Leave a Reply

